Resources & Databases by Subject > Employment & Labor Law Research

Move mouse cursor over More information on this resource for more information about resource.

Subscription Resources

Free Resources

 

The following research guide is intended to be used as a starting point for research in employmant and labor law at the UNM Law Library. It includes both primary and secondary materials, in both print and electronic formats. If you have any questions, please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at reference@law.unm.edu.

Employment & Labor Law Research Guide

SECONDARY PRINT RESOURCES—SELECTED TITLES

The developing labor law : the board, the courts, and the National Labor Relations Act KF 3369 A76 2006

How arbitration works / Elkouri & Elkouri KF 3424 E5 2003

Fairweather's practice and procedure in labor arbitration  KF3424 F35 1999 

How to take a case before the NLRB KF 3372 M25 2000

Labor law in a nutshell / by Douglas L. Leslie  KF 3369.3 L39 2008 

Federal labor law : NLRB practice / by Lee Modjeska, Abigail Cooley Modjeska  KF 3372 M65 1994

NOTE: Labor and Employment materials can generally be found on the lower floor at KF 3300-KF 3800

ONLINE SERVICES—RESTRICTED

There are four primary databases used for federal and state labor law.  Lexis and Westlaw combine all subsections of labor law under one heading.  CCH and BNA break labor law into its subsections for searching. Each is organized in a different manner and covers different secondary sources.

LEXIS > Area of law by Topic > Labor and Employment > choose a file

WESTLAW > Directory > Topical Practice Areas > Labor and Employment>choose a folder

CCH LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT LIBRARY > Labor and Employment>choose file(s)

BNA LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT LAW LIBRARY > click on link

SELECTIVE GOVERNMENT WEBSITES

National Labor Relations Board
Contains board decisions, rules, regulations, ALJ decisions, management memoranda, NLRB Manual, forms, and public notices

Department of Labor
Contains statutory and regulatory information by topic, labor data, forms, compliance assistance resources, and links to specific labor divisions

Federal Labor Relations Authority
Contains statues, regulations, and decisions for this agency, which administers labor management relations for federal employees

EEOC
Contains federal laws, regulations, and guidance information relating to discrimination

OSHA
Contains laws, regulations, compliance guidance, and links to state websites

New Mexcio Statutes >New Mexico Statues and Court Rules> Statutory Chapters in New Mexico Statutes > 50. Employment law or 51. Unemployment Compensation or 52. Workers' Compensation

New Mexico Regulations
> Browse Compilation> Title 11 Labor and Workers’ Compensation  Update with the New Mexico Register

Compiled by Eileen Cohen (updated February 10, 2009)

 

The Law Library provides information about legal research resources and methods. However, the Law Library cannot do research for others, or provide legal advice which includes the identification of law that might apply to a specific situation. If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian.