Resources & Databases by Subject > Public International Law Research

Move mouse cursor over More information on this resource for more information about each resource. If you are a non-law UNM student enrolled in a Law School class needing access to a database limited to law students, please contact Library Database Access Problems to explore access options.

Subscription Resources

Free Resources

 

This research guide is intended to be used as a starting point for research in public international law at the UNM Law Library. It includes both primary and secondary materials, in both print and electronic formats. If you have any questions, please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at reference@law.unm.edu.

Public International Law Research Guide

Primary Sources

Subscription Databases

Free Electronic Resources

 

Print Resources

Treaties Historical Sources (Pre-1950)

Clive Parry, Consolidated Treaty Series.
The only collection of bilateral and multilateral treaties from 1648 - 1919
Law Lower Floor JX120.P35 (231 volumes)

Charles I. Bevans ed., Treaties and other International Agreements of the United States, 1776-1949
13 vols; vols 1-4 – multilateral treaties arranged chronologically; vols. 5-12 are bilateral treaties arranged by country; vol. 13 is the index.
Law Lower Floor JX 236 1968 A5

Statutes at Large: 1778-1949
o Volume 8 contains all treaties between the United States and other countries from 1778-1845; later volumes have treaties annually
Law Upper Floor, Shelves 20-20A

Post 1950 Treaties

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.)
20 year lag time between ratification and official publication
Law Lower Floor JX 231 A34
Also available at HeinOnline > Treaties and Agreements > UST (1950-1984)

Treaties and Other International Acts Series (T.I.A.S.)
8-9 year lag time
Law Lower Floor
Also available at: HeinOnline > Treaties and Agreements > TIAS (1982-1999) and the U.S. State Department, T.I.A.S. (1996-2000)

Treaty Indexes

Igor I. Kavass, United States Treaty Index : 1776-1990
Law Lower JX 231 A3432

Igor I. Kavass, Guide to the United States Treaties in Force (1982-2009)
Supplements by Kavass’s Current Treaty Index
Law Lower JX 231 G7

Customary International Law Resources

Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law (1973-1988)
Law Lower JX 21 D54

Foreign Policy Bulletin (1990-2006)
Major addresses, statements, and other public reports and remarks of the President, Secretary of State, and administration officials in other foreign affairs agencies. Also includes pivotal debates in Congress, speeches and other statements by foreign and international officials, reports from international orgs, etc.
Law Lower JX 232 F67

Secondary Sources

Subscription Databases

Free Electronic Resources

Print Resources

Restatement and Treatises

Restatement of the Law, Third, the Foreign Relations Law of the United States
This Restatement consists of international law as it applies to the United States, and domestic law that has substantial impact on the foreign relations of the United States or has other important international consequences.
Law Ref KF 4650 A53 1987

Ian Brownlie, Principles of Public International Law (6th ed., 2003).
Law Desk Reserve KZ 3225 B76A37 2003

Peter Malanczuk, Akehurst’s Modern Introduction to International Law (7th rev. ed., 1997)
Law Lower Floor JX 1308 A43 1997

Antonio Cassese, International law (2nd ed., 2005)
Law Lower Floor KZ 3395 C25 A35 2005

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Citation Guides

Bieber’s Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations (6th ed., 2009)
Law Ref., KF 246 B46 2009

Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citation (2006)
Law Lower, K 89 G85 2006

Encyclopedia of Public International Law (5 volumes, 1992 - )
Over 1300 articles dealing with all aspects of public international law, and includes summaries of the more important decisions of international courts and tribunals
Law Lower, JX1226.E5 1992

The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Articles arranged alphabetically, include extensive cross-references, and concludes with list of references to facilitate further research
Law Ref., KZ 4968 O84 2003

Compiled by Ernesto Longa (October 18, 2009)

 

The Law Library provides information about legal research resources and methods. However, the Law Library cannot do research for others, or provide legal advice which includes the identification of law that might apply to a specific situation. If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian.