Electronic Resources > Legislative History & Historical Documents

Click on More information on this resource for more information about each resource.

  • MORE INFORMATION ON AMERICAN MEMORY PROJECT:
    Documents from 1774-1875, from the Continental Congress, Bills & Resolutions, Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and U.S. Serial Set; Journals of Congress; and Debates of Congress including the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON ANGLO-AMERICAN LEGAL TRADITION:
    Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON CIS U.S. SERIAL SET:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty.
    Online access to CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970 forward, plus full-text hearing transcripts and testimony from 1988 forward; committee reports from 1989 forward; bills from 1989 forward; bill tracking reports from 1989 forward; selected committee prints from 1995 forward; congressional documents from 1995 forward; Congressional Record from 1985 forward; Federal Register from 1980 forward; current Code of Federal Regulations; current U.S. Code; U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969; public laws from 1988 forward; Statutes at Large, 1789 forward; Treaties with Indian Tribes, 1778-1874; Treaties with Foreign Nations, 1776-1949; Congressional Indexes, 1789-1969, Indexes to Unpublished Hearings Through 1980; and much, much more.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON CQ PRESS HISTORIC DOCUMENT SERIES:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition collects more than 2,500 primary sources covering current events around the world from 1972 to the present. This online edition is well organized and provides excellent tools for exploring these rich resources.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON GPOACCESS:
    A resource of selected legislative, executive and judicial documents from 1937 to present. A training manual is available at the GPO website.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE LEGAL CLASSICS:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text access to 580 legal monographs published from 1802 to 1979. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE STATE SESSION LAWS:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text of state session laws dating back to colonial times.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS LIBRARY:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text access to guides, indexes, publications, and other texts on United States treaties from 1776 to present. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE U.S. ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text access to the Official Opinions of the Attorney General of the United States (1791 to 1982), Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice (1977 to 1996), and other published Attorney General opinions. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE U.S. CONGRESSIONAL DOCUMENTS COLLECTION:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text access to Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1787), American State Papers (1789-1838), Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Record [including the Proceedings of the House, Proceedings of the Senate, Extensions of Remarks and the Daily Digest (1873-date). See HeinOnline for more information.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE U.S. FEDERAL LEGISLATIVE HISTORY LIBRARY:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text access to an extensive collection of materials on federal legislative history including information from the 1st Congress (1789-1791) to the 107th (2001-2002). The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON HEINONLINE U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Full-text access to the United States Statutes at Large (1789-2002). The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICAL RETROSPECTIVE:
    Accessible from Law School; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    An index of nearly 900 legal journals from 1917 to 1981.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON LEXIS/NEXIS CONGRESSIONAL PUBLICATIONS:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty.
    Click "Advanced Search" tab to see list of available publications: Legislative Histories 1969-present, plus full-text Hearing transcripts and testimony 1824-present, Committee Prints 1830-present, Congressional Research Service Reports 1916-present, House and Senate Documents 1817-present, House and Senate Reports 1819-present, U.S. Serial Set 1789-1969. Use more links in left navigation bar to reach Bills, Bill tracking reports 1969-present, Public Laws 1988-present, current U.S. Code, Statutes at Large 1789-present (Statutes at Large also contains Treaties with Indian Tribes 1778-1874 and Treaties with Foreign Nations 1776-1949), Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations 1981-present, Congressional Record 1985-present, Washington Post 1977-present, and much more. For details see LexisNexis.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON LLMC-DIGITAL:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    A growing digital archive of international and U.S. legal and governmental documents, including statutes, treatises, case law, administrative decisions, and reports of government agencies, boards and departments encompassing over 700 titles from 1789 to present. There is some recent material, but the emphasis is on historical documents. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON THE MAKING OF MODERN LAW:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Provides full-text searchable digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON U.S. SUPREME COURT RECORDS & BRIEFS:
    Accessible while on the UNM campus; proxy server access for Law students and faculty. Licensed by UNM Law Library.
    Comprehensive online collection of U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs (1832-1978). Topics include the Court’s interpretation of the Constitution and its amendments, states’ rights and national sovereignty, business and labor law, civil rights and gender law, and much more.
  • MORE INFORMATION ON THOMAS:
    Library of Congress website offering a vast collection of federal legislative documents and information. Includes bill summaries and status (1973 to date), bill text, public laws (1973 to date), the Congressional Record (1989 to date), Committee Reports, roll calls (1989 to present), and historical documents.