Resources & Databases by Subject > Taxation Law Research

Move mouse cursor over More information on this resource for more information about each resource.

Subscription Resources

Free Resources

  •  

 

The following research guide is intended to be used as a starting point for research in taxation law at the UNM Law Library. It includes both primary and secondary materials, in both print and electronic formats. If you have any questions, please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at reference@law.unm.edu.

Taxation Law Research Guide

Primary Sources

Subscription Databases

Print Resources

Internal Revenue Code

  • Internal Revenue Acts (1954 – Present) - Texts of Acts amendatory of the Internal Revenue Code and Legislative History

    Law Lower Level, KF 6275.99 U54

  • Internal Revenue Code "Complete Text" (1971 – Present)

    Law Lower Level, KF 6276.5 A2

  • United States Code Annotated and United States Code Service – Title 26 (Internal Revenue Code)

    Law Upper Level, Shelves 21A and 22A

Federal Tax Regulations

Court Decisions

IRS Materials

  • Internal Revenue Cumulative Bulletin (1919 – Present) - announces official rulings and procedures of the IRS, Treasury Decisions, Executive Orders, Tax Conventions, legislation, court decisions, and other items of general interest.

    Law Lower Level, KF 6301 A1

  • IRS Letter Rulings Reports (1978 – 1988) – includes Technical Advice Memoranda, Private Letter Rulings, General Counsel's Memoranda

    Law Lower Level, KF6282.A2C65

Free Online Resources

Internal Revenue Code

Federal Tax Regulations

Court Decisions

IRS Materials

Secondary Sources

Subscription Databases

Print Resources

How to Conduct Tax Research

Comprehensive

Estates and Gifts

Corporations

Partnerships

Individuals

Tax-Exempt Organizations

States

Treaties

  • Tax Treaties - Full texts of U.S. treaties with foreign countries covering income and estate taxes ... including annotations and regulations, current reports of new developments and finding lists
    Law Lower Floor, KF6306.C62

Free Online Resources

Compiled by Ernesto Longa (updated February 10, 2009)

 

The Law Library provides information about legal research resources and methods. However, the Law Library cannot do research for others, or provide legal advice which includes the identification of law that might apply to a specific situation. If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian.